Copperhead Gin

Another month and another gin to review – This mother it is the turn of Copperhead Gin £34 RRP a Belgian Gin with a selection of 5 botanicals.

They Say:

This Belgian Gin is distilled with juniper, cardamom, orange peel, angelica and coriander. It’s apparently named after Mr. Copperhead, an alchemist who was searching for the ‘elixir of life’ and accidentally produced this Gin along the way. Result!

Copperhead Gin first hits you with sweet and citrussy aromas and flavours, followed by a persistent juniper tang and honeyed sweetness.

I Say:

Marketing clearly works on me as I fell in love with bottle. Very like its description this looks like an alchemists bottle stored in a pantry somewhere. It can even be purchased with three elixers to mix with your gin to mix it up a little.

I chose to have mine straight with tonic and a garnish of Orange. For me it seems a little unrefined and bitter, not at all what I expected. I think with the blend of only 5 botanicals it is easy to get unbalanced with the tonic and garnish. Did I enjoy the gin, it was okay. Would I purchase a bottle for me it has to be a no.

Score 6/10

Leave a Reply

