Feeling intolerant? – here’s the test

I’ve had a pretty crap time of it recently, work isn’t want I was expecting and I am using a lot of energy feeling I need to fight to do my role properly. So I’ve been feeling emotionally drained and run down. For me it was hard to tell if it was work, emotions or something more diet related. So in ana effort to accept what I can’t control (work) and take charge of what I can (food and home) I decided to do a food intolerance test.

After some research I settled on http://www.testyourintolerance.com partly due to cost (£60) and partly because they seemed the most user friendly.

They Say:

Do you suffer with: Headaches, Nausea, Bloating, Stomach cramps, Diarrhoea, Constipation, Fatigue, Skin disorders, Brain fog, Lethargy or constant tiredness?

These are just some of the symptoms of allergies and intolerance.

We provide a simple test that can identify the potential causes and allow you to make changes to your diet or your life that can ease these symptoms.

Our non-invasive test using the very latest technology just requires you to send in a small hair sample and within 7 days from it being received at our lab you will have the results in a full report.

Our test is the most comprehensive available testing you against over 600 items including food items such as Wheat, Gluten, Dairy, Lactose and Nuts and non-food items such as pollen and dust mites.

I Say:

Super easy to do! once you’ve paid they email a link for the forms over to you. All you need to do is download or fill them in online (even easier) pull out a few hair pop them in a bag seal them up in an envelope and off they go.

The website is easy to use however some places say 7 working days to get the results and others say 10. Mine took the full 10 days which was frustrating as I was so impatient to find out the results.

The results? Well I thought I was going to come back as gluten and lactose intolerant. No to both! however I do have intolerance to:

Blackberries, Honey, Swede, marjoram, cahsew, cranberries, Green beans, spinach, soya (ouch being a veggie), Egg white protein (double ouch) and vanilla to name but a few!

So now what? does it work? honestly I don’t know but my aim is to finish the products that I do have (a lot with soya) and then try in the new year an elimination diet to see if there is a change to my lethargy and energy levels! as veggie with egg white and soya being an intolerance this could prove to make things interesting…

I also did a nutritional deficiency test too which flagged up some vitamin B (which is often common in veggies) and also Vitamin C. So £80 later on supplements and I will keep you posted.

Have you tried and intolerance elimination diet? how did you find it? I would love to hear your experiences.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

