Carluccios – Efficient and underwhelming

So another meeting out. This time Carluccios was suggested in Gunwharf.

They Say:

FRESH FROM OUR KITCHENcarluccio-s

The true flavours of Italy

Our chefs have a simple mantra: Minimum of fuss, maximum of flavour. Little things matter a lot. The fact that we make fresh ravioli every morning. The unmistakable quality of our estate-pressed olive oil. The age of our balsamic. The crema in our espresso. Honestly Italian food and drink from morning to night.
I Say:
As you walk into the restaurant it has the feeling of a quick and easy lunch stop, all white washed and impeccably clean. it had a range of overpriced produce to the front, I am guessing to give off the atmosphere of bespoke fresh food. I had the GOAT’S CHEESE & BEETROOT Salad 9.95 Thinly sliced beetroot, radish, asparagus, walnuts and mixed leaf salad topped with goat’s cheese and served with a spicy yoghurt dressing on the side.
The service I couldn’t fault and my dinner date had the lobster pasta and the food was served I would say within 15 mins of ordering. I was a little saddened to say my salad looked very bland with just a slice of goats cheese on top which I was expected to be a little grilled at least. All that for £9.95 seemed a little well underwhelming. I ordered a lime and soda to be told they didn’t have soda water only sparkling water as well which seemed a little silly considering it is a popular beverage. I chose not have a dessert by my dinner date did (chocolate bread and butter pudding) which for me also looked a little dry and prebought in and just heated before serving. I will say however they had a whole seperate menu for vegetarians which was impressive.
For a quick-lunch date with the girls, I would perhaps go again, however with so  many other good food places out there I think I will be giving this place a miss.
Leave a Reply

