Shabby Chic – Easy Street

So I’m trying to update my house but I love a bargain and I recently got the option of taking on a whole new bedroom set, the down side it was pine. So I recently upcycled my dresser and bedroom furniture with Rustoleum paint and it was so easy. So I thought why not write a review?

They Say:shabby chic1

Renovate and transform furniture with our chalky finish Furniture Paint. With a classic, smooth touch, flat matt finish, it brings a new lease of life to tired, worn-out objects.

Simply choose from one of the 25 wonderful shades below and paint your furniture, finishing with a layer of Rust-Oleum Furniture Finishing Wax.

The paint can be used directly onto wood (bare or painted), brick, stone, plaster or any suitably primed rigid surface (metal, plastic etc).

Create a distressed look by applying two coats in contrasting colours then sanding/ scouring when dry.

shabby chic2I Say:

This genuinely gives a great result, no sanding, priming or anything. It was also perfect over veneer wood. I would say two coats is usually enough to give the right finish but really make sure you stir the paint well as it can go on quite watery to start with.

I have used both the antique white and the grey to a great result. I have done a full dresser, a dressing table, two side table, a standalone mirror, two chest of drawers and two double wardrobes. It is also water based to easy to clean the brushes.

It is about touch dry in around 1 hour and complely dry in 4 so you can get a project done in a day depending on the size.

Why not instead of going new, go new to you and do up some vitnage furniture shabby chic style with Rustoleum.

Leave a Reply

