Cleaning for my health?

So recently I have been feeling run down and lethargic, I have been working long days, the dog is shedding, the washing basket is overflowing and my life feels as chaotic as my house does.

I realise how much better I feel when my house is clean so instead of a Friday night out I have chosen a Friday night in to get my house and mind in order.cleaning

Step 1 – De Clutter!

Do we really need it? why not really have a look at whats in your house and be ruthless! I tend to put things in a box and if I havent missed it in a month i will either give it to friends, or donate it charity so it goes to a good home. Why not help others and your mind at the same time.

Step 2 – Enjoy the therapy

For me cleaning is therapeutic, my own little version of mindfulness. It makes me feel helpful, productive and like I’ve achieved something. It also makes me feel happier relaxed and and focused on other things in my life.

And if I havent convinced you yet….

Step 3 – Enjoy the extra benefits

Research has also revealed that a cleaner home could lead to healthier food choices. A study published in Psychological Science journal revealed that those who worked in a neat, tidy space for 10 minutes were twice as likely to choose an apple over a chocolate bar than those working in a messy, chaotic office.This could be because your brain craves comfort food to cope with stress caused by untidy surroundings. And we all know that eating a healthier diet with plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables can boost your mental health! so go on get those marigolds and music on and dance your way to a cleaner house and mind!

Leave a Reply

