Gentle kale ‘pick me up’ smoothie

Okay okay we know Kale is everywhere and it is the amazing go to veggie, but I have to admit the taste of just kale is not for me, not yet anyway, so I was looking for a way I could get Kale into a smoothie without feeling like I am drinking the contents of my garden!

Using a bunch of left over in my fridge I stumbled across this little beauty.

Ingredients

large handful of kale

1 apple

1 banana

150 -200ml Coconut milk – I use alpro coconut

1 tbsp of chia seeds

Place all in a blender/nutribullet and blend, yummy!

Top tip – I buy a large bag of kale and then freeze handfuls in a bag at a time to avoid it going off

For those who don’t know or as  brief reminder Kale is an excellent source of vitamins K, A and C, as well as containing useful amounts of manganese, copper and phytochemicals, which are believed to help against certain types of cancer. Gram for gram kale contains 17 times more vitamin C than carrots, which is important because it plays a role in the formation of collagen for blood vessels, bone, cartilage, gums, skin and teeth; supports the immune system to work normally; increases iron absorption and plays a role in protecting the cells from oxidative damage.

All that in a breakfast! wow how can you not say yes to that?

Leave a Reply

