Power Yoga

Okay I’m probably like a lot of you lot, by work out DVD’s and never use them?

Well I’ve made a vow to myself on days where I don’t have time to go to the gym I really have no excuse to do a mini workout at home! I mean I have a Kinect and so many DVD’s its untrue!

I woke up this morning after 3 days of intensive Tennis training, I woke up feeling sore and stiff. Now don’t get me wrong I’ll still go to the gym later, but really felt the need to do some stretching out of sore tired muscles. So I decided to drag this DVD out.

Power Yoga – Ashtanga Yoga for Strength & Toning – Fit for Life Series

RRP £11.00

They Say:

Susan Fulton’s Power Yoga is launched amid much competition. With stars such as Madonna and Geri Halliwell forsaking the gym and turning to yoga, it’s inevitable that everyone is jumping on the yoga bandwagon. Setting out to provide a basis for strength, body toning and emotional balance, Power Yoga, based on a more form of yoga known as Ashtanga, suggests that this is for people with a serious interest. But you could easily mistake this as a rather dull promo of a deserted Lanzarote beach. In terms of the yoga tuition itself, what this amounts to is the equivalent of a decent yoga class in a local community centre. All the postures are there but without the punch, oomph and glamour associated with power yoga. The whistling wind-type soundtrack is relaxing, but hardly conducive to the spirit of what is often described as aerobic yoga.On the DVD: special features amount to three menus which turn out to be wordy descriptions of pilates, tai chi and yoga.

Product Description

Comprehensive routines and sequences of Ashtanga Yoga including the famous Sun Salutation and Warrior postures. Susan Fulton is an established, successful presenter of many programmes in the Healthy Living series.
 
I Say:
 
I agree with the fact it’s not Power Yoga, you don’t work up a sweat however its a great beginner DVD, she is calm and unassuming and more importantly her voice doesn’t irritate, and the music isn’t annoying which for me makes this DVD great!
 
Okay the filming is poor, it doesn’t have the glitz and glamour of other DVD’s but it does the job! you feel like you’ve had a good stretch and it certainly helps lengthen and tone the body.
 
it goes through all the well know poses, the cat & dog, sun salutation, warrior, tree etc. Okay it won’t help you lose weight, and you don’t come out sweating but it sticks to the relaxing calming ethos side of yoga, which can leave the title quite misleading. but as a nice relaxing calming yoga DVD I give it thumbs up!
 
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi there, I found your blog by means of Google even as looking for a related matter, your site came up, it seems great. I have added to favourites|added to bookmarks.

  2. It’s truly a great and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you just shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

